Complete Story


OOS President's Message - March 2024


Dear Ohio Ophthalmological Society Members and Friends:

As the incoming President of the Ohio Ophthalmological Society, I am looking forward to continuing the important work that our outgoing President, Dr. Carla Ford, did to improve the Society’s ability to act as our advocate.  Dr. Ford achieved much during her two-year term, and perhaps none of her achievements is as important as her positioning the Society to oppose Senate Bill 129, which would allow optometrists to perform surgical procedures without having completed the study and training that our profession requires.

Under Dr. Ford’s leadership, the Society made our voices heard in Columbus and Washington, DC.  But until we defeat Senate Bill 129—and ensure that the general public develops better awareness of the stakes involved in scope of practice rules—we will have much more work to do to protect our patients.

In addition to continuing our effort to stop Senate Bill 129, I will be working to improve the participation of young ophthalmologists and trainees in our Society by implementing mentorship and engagement programs.  The future of our profession—and of the Society’s ongoing ability to serve as a voice for ophthalmologists in Ohio—will depend on the talent and dedication of the next generation.

Our 2025 Annual Meeting will build off the success of this year’s meeting, where more than 350 physicians, technicians, and nurses traversed a sold old exhibit hall, watched and participated in engaging scientific talks, and welcomed former American Academy of Ophthalmology President Dr. Keith Carter to the dais.  At this year’s conference, more than 35 young ophthalmologists attended a standing-room-only luncheon on advocacy and involvement and competed in a poster presentation.  Stay tuned for news about events and engagement opportunities for our next Annual Meeting on March 15, 2025.

Together, we will continue to uphold the highest standards in patient care and ensure the bright future of our profession.


Aleksandra Rachitskaya, MD
OOS President

Oos Preslettermar2024

Photo taken at the 2024 OOS Annual Meeting: (from Left to Right)

Dr. Carla Ford, immediate past president; Dr. Joe Coney, past president; Dr. Aleksandra Ratchiskaya, OOS president; Dr. Keith Carter, past AAO president 


Printer-Friendly Version